The voices I hear….

I don’t know what it is about old rundown places that attract me so much.  Maybe it’s the historian in me, or maybe it’s the photographer, I don’t know.  What I do know is that there are times when I’m working around some of these old places and if I stop and listen, and close my eyes, I can see these places in their heyday.

noise

noise

This little community is one of those places.  At one time, this must have been a thriving little village of sorts.  Located in the Texas panhandle, I imagine this was big time cotton country back in the day (and still is today).  I don’t know if this was group of sharecroppers or what – but there were nearly a dozen or so buildings  together and all very much falling apart.  Closing my eyes, I can hear the daily activities – women working around the houses, children running around playing and getting into trouble – dinner conversation with the men when they returned from working the fields.  Today, however, all there is to be heard is the wind through the trees and the sound of some of the lower branches scratching against the roofs and walls of these old houses.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on January 3, 2013.

16 Responses to “The voices I hear….”

  1. For me, run-down places are fascinating to contemplate because at one time, they were places of hope. Our new home! Our new town! When did they realize the hope there was gone? When did they abandon the place and move on?

    You might appreciate a series of books by Daniel Fitzgerald called Ghost Towns of Kansas. He claims there are about 6,000 Kansas towns that failed to live up to what people hoped they would be, and he writes about how they started and how they ended.

  2. You are so cool! 🙂 Great post!

  3. Some people might make jokes about hearing those voices, but I think we all can hear and imagine the past as our senses fill with it in a place like that. It’s great you are exploring and photographing these places rich with legacy.

  4. If those walls could talk, eh?!
    Awesome…
    🙂

  5. This is beyond fabulous, Derrick! I do the same thing you mention in your post when I’m in the field at such locations, too! You can almost feel the whispers and the footsteps of those who were here once in these terrific spots, and quite honestly I think this is one of the key reasons I’m drawn to these subjects so strongly. What a wonderful photograph and post here today, my friend, I truly enjoyed it!

  6. found my way here via spilledinkguy’s blog, and it was worth the proverbial rabbit trail. an evocative image…. thanks for sharing!

  7. Wonderful words and image, Derrick. I can understand your fascination with places like this. They always make me curious, too, and sometimes I think I hear the memories, too. 🙂

  8. This is an excellent shot! I am from the Texas South Plains, so I see similar things every day. On the one hand, the lost dreams these old places represent make me sad. But, on the other…I do appreciate the photographic opportunities they afford. And, when these old places have finally disappeared forever and the old trees have died and fallen down, photos like this one will be good documentation of what happened out here.

    And, voices? Yes, I heard them, too.

    • Melinda – thanks so very much!! Coming from someone who has been to places like this and seen for yourself – that’s quite high praise. thank you! Come back by anytime.

Leave a Reply

 
