Finally!

I’ve been trying to capture some lightning for the longest time!  Friday night I finally had the opportunity to do so.

A buddy and I were camping at Caprock Canyons State Park as the storm rolled in.  At first there wasn’t any lightning, just a nice spring storm on the horizon.  Before long, it started lightning and I figured that I’d work to catch a shot.

It was too light outside to just trip the shutter and wait it out.  As I was traveling on my ADV motorcycle… I didn’t have a ton of room for gear, but other than a camera, lens, and batteries, I had thrown in 3 ND filters and the mount for the filters.  I quickly threw everything together, set it on bulb, did a few practice shots to set composition, etc and let her rip.  I managed to take about a dozen shots before it started raining too much to leave the camera out.  TWO of them caught some awesome lightning and here is the first I’ll share. 🙂

gotcha!

gotcha!

~ by Derrick Birdsall on April 1, 2013.

23 Responses to “Finally!”

  1. Nice! I was sitting outside in downtown Lubbock that night, watching the clouds roll your way….

  2. Electric!
    🙂

  3. Extraordinary shot. Me likey.

  4. Wow, definitely succeeded, nice shot!

  5. Awesome shot

  6. Crackling good shot, Derrick! 😀

  7. Nice capture! Hard photo to take!
    God Bless you, Derrick!

  8. Gosh you have some great fun out there and what a spectacular trophy to bring back with you!

  9. What ‘s that saying? Inspiration is 90% preparation or something like that. Well, you are always prepared for our universe’s miracles. I love lighting photographs and this one is beautiful, Mr. B.

  10. Wow! Great get! Beautiful effect with the purple sky. Congrats.

  11. Congrats. This is a good catch. You certainly have mastered the use of those filters, etc, though I like your more plain, straight work in general. Well, ok, the sepias are excellent too. Alright, it’s all good. I guess I just like the simpler work better.

Leave a Reply

 
