Book news!

Exciting news to share!!

Abilene Christian University will be publishing a picture book featuring my images of the Texas Frontier Forts!

For those of you who’ve been around long enough to remember, this project was originally taken on by TSTC – right up until nearly a year ago to the day – the college shut down its publishing house.

Enough thanks cannot go out to Margaret Hoogstra, Director of the Texas Forts Trail for her tireless work in finding a new home for this project!!

Sincere thank you to ACU for picking this project up and I can’t wait until we get books in hand, hopefully later this year!!

This project has been a labor of love for me, combining my love for Texas history with my passion for photography. I have driven and rode (on my trusty motorcycle) across Texas to capture the essence of our frontier heritage. Can’t wait!!

IMG_0206

~ by Derrick Birdsall on June 3, 2013.

16 Responses to “Book news!”

  1. Congratulations on this exciting project!

  2. Congratulations, Derrick! That is wonderful news. Your time, efforts and great photography have come to fruition. Fantastic!

  3. Great news indeed. Congratulations Derrick. I’m glad it found a home.

  4. Congrats Derrick!

  5. Congratulations Derrick and well done to ACU for recognising home grown Texan quality so loved and admired by those of us way beyond the Texas borders!

  6. I am so excited for you, Derrick, what a terrific bit of news to see here today! Congratulations are certainly in order, I love projects like this as I feel they are very very important for future generations. I tip my hat to you, good sir!

  7. So very happy for you. Excited to see it happen.

    Teri

  8. Woo Hoo Derrick! I wondered from time to time what had happened to your book. I am so happy to read that it’s getting published. Your awesome photographs and your passion and obvious love for Texas history deserve to be on people’s bookshelves. Cheers to you!

  9. Congratulations this is a big honor.

  10. Congratulations!

  11. Glad it got picked back up. Didn’t realize your publisher went out of biz. Way to be resilient and pick the right resilient people to work with.

Leave a Reply

 
