Ridin’ the wave

I think I’ve found a favorite spot at Big Bend Ranch State Park.   I’ve spent one evening shooting images at this location before last year, catching the sun’s rays as they warmed up the yellow caves.

 

sundown

 

This year, I focused my attention on the opposite side of the caves from the above image.  To me, the rock formation greatly resembled a crashing wave – do you see it as well?

 

foamy wave

 

It’s a magical area indeed – knowing that once upon a time, a group of fellow humans lived, worked, played and died here – makes it all that much more magical.

 

frozen in time

 

Beneath the black stripes can be found perfectly symmetrical holes in the stone floor.  I can’t tell what the chambers were used for – whether for grinding things, or for something to hold their fire – as the black stripes you can see above are nearly directly above the small pits.

The neatest part of this area can be found a short distance away from the wave.  There’s a long wall that, upon first glance appears to be simply some mottled rock.  Closer inspection, however, and a little help from my flash showed something else.

 

they were here

 

What all can you make out?

~ by Derrick Birdsall on November 17, 2010.

2 Responses to “Ridin’ the wave”

  1. Good stuff. Looks like a fascinating place. I love that last one — not only does it make my mouth water with those abstract shapes, it looks like I see a partial handprint on the right side.

    Like

    • Thank you, PJ! Yep, there’s at least one hand print there – and everything that you see in the picture that is red – was put there by a human as far as I can tell. I’m pretty sure that a lot of the yellow is a result of a human hand too….

      Like

Leave a comment