Impressionist

Walking through the woods one cool, misty day – my mood was feeling a bit detached and out of sorts.  Coming into view of this stand of trees, I figured that I would try and capture an image that could match the odd feelings I was having during this foggy hike.

A walk in the woods

It was actually challenging to try and get the little Olympus point and shoot to behave like I wanted it to do since you can’t manually set the shutter speed.  After a few attempts and learning how to fool the camera, I was able to get something that came pretty close to matching the mood I was trying to capture.

~ by Derrick Birdsall on March 26, 2012.

23 Responses to “Impressionist”

  1. You painted a brilliant photograph here, Mr. B…
    well worth the fight/challenge!
    🙂

    Like

    • thanks Inky! It was some fun trial and error and outsmarting the camera. Modern point and shoots are designed to give a pretty sharp, in focus image automatically… outsmarting that took a bit of time, but I think it was worth it! Thanks again!

      Like

  2. Good effect wiith your point and shoot camera. Using a DSLR with a zoom lens, you obtain similar effect by slowing down the shutter speed and quickly zooming or turning the lens.

    Like

    • thank you – of course you are right with the DSLR information…. as I was visiting this place on my motorcycle, the only camera I had with me was my little point and shoot. 😉

      Like

  3. Very nice, Derrick! These types of shots aren’t easy to pull off successfully with a DSLR nevermind with a P&S. Well done.

    Like

  4. I like the effect you got. Very nice. 🙂

    Like

  5. This is a pretty neat shot made with the point and shoot. I took mine with my fairly basic cell phone which is exactly why it came out so unfocused! http://designhouse9.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/then-again-by-diane-keaton/

    Like

  6. Now how on earth did you do that?!

    Like

  7. A really intriguing shot.

    Like

  8. ahh the imagery, I see the forest through trees

    Like

  9. Just lovely!

    Like

  10. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused (mysightpicture.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  11. so how did you fool the camera in to thinking it was darker…please tell

    Like

  12. […] my sight picture […]

    Like

  13. Terrific composition! love it. Here is my take on “unfocused”: http://wp.me/p1TywS-rc
    ~Anne

    Like

  14. […] https://mysightpicture.wordpress.com/2012/03/26/impressionist/ […]

    Like

Leave a comment