HDR experiment

My new Canon G12 has an in-camera HDR setting that takes 3 different exposures and then combines them into one final image.  I’m personally not a fan of the whole HDR movement as the bulk of what I see out there looks lovely – but it doesn’t look real whatsoever.

On the other hand, the image taken and processed in-camera by the G12 is an interesting concept to me that I’m going to continue to experiment with under certain conditions.

Here’s the standard image:

 

standard

 

And here’s the G12’s HDR shot:

 

HDR

 

On one hand, I like how the HDR image opened up the highlights on the left side of the image, but on the other, it almost looks like it blew out the yellows on the right.

What are your thoughts??

~ by Derrick Birdsall on November 25, 2010.

8 Responses to “HDR experiment”

  1. I think I prefer the original shot here Derrick. You’ve certainly captured a gorgeous scene!

  2. For what it’s worth, I prefer the standard shot too. Have a great Thanksgiving Derrick.

  3. I like both the original and the edited version, it looks 10 times better when you click on the photo to see it larger.

    If you want to lose that over saturated yellow colour, open your photo up with photoshop or whatever you use, go to hue/saturation and where it says “master” colours, scroll down and select yellows. Then reduce the saturation to about -10 to -13 ish. This will make your yellows les saturated and keep that vibrant sky and the few bright greens and reds the same.

  4. Happy Thanksgiving, Derrick.Beatiful image. Seems like you could open up the shadows on the left in the original image without needing the extra hassle and artificiality of HDR.

    • Same to you, my friend. I tinkered a little bit with it today and think it’s doable either way… I don’t feel too bad about “just” combining the images as people have been doing that since the dawn of photography. It’s the over manipulation that we’ve talked about a lot over the last several months that just makes me wanna puke. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
