Ft. Davis

My Big Bend country sojourn started off at the Ft. Davis National Historic Site.  Along with Ft. Concho, which I’ve documented here and here you can see two of the most intact frontier forts in the country.  What Ft. Davis has that Ft. Concho does not have is context within the natural environment.  (Conversely, I much rather favor the level of interpretation that Ft. Concho has inside its structures, but that’s another story….)

Ft. Davis is nearly enclosed by a small ridge that rises behind the fort grounds and visually it’s quite stunning.  Add to it your typical west Texas clear blue skies and you’ve got all the ingredients for some wonderful images.

snug

Hearing the words of fellow photographer PJ echo in my head, I strove to remember to look at the little things as well and not get completely caught up in the grand landscape in front of me.

layers

~ by Derrick Birdsall on November 8, 2010.

4 Responses to “Ft. Davis”

  1. Thanks kindly for the link Derrick. While I like both photos, I think the layers is especially well seen and done. Very nice work. The movement and the contrasts work beautifully.

    Like

  2. I sometimes have a hard time slowing down enough to see the small things…Thanks for the reminder to do just that.

    Like

  3. You are quite welcome!

    Like

Leave a comment